1/6
 

BACKGROUND

Over 5.6 million people have fled Syria since the outbreak of war in 2011, seeking safety in Lebanon, Turkey, Jordan and beyond (UNHCR, 2018). Turkey alone has accommodated a staggering number of more than 3.6 million Syrians over this period of time. At least 90% of these people are living outside of refugee camps in urban or peri-urban areas, of which more than two-thirds are women and children. An estimated 40% (about 380,000) of Syrian children currently have no access to education and basic health care services.

 

LOCATION

Reyhanlı is a small city bordering with Syria in the southeastern Turkish province of Hatay. As the main gateway from Turkey to Aleppo in Syria, the town has become the main entry point for Syrian asylum seekers during the escalating conflicts. Consequently, in the last 8 years, the population of Reyhanlı has nearly doubled, progressively absorbing hundreds of thousands of Syrians who do not envisage a restoration of peace in their homeland in the short term.

Although featuring a quiet urban environment, Reyhanlı is not entirely free from the risk of war aggression. In May 2013, Reyhanlı experienced two bombing attacks in the same day, killing 52 people and wounding 146 people. Since 2011, it has also been a frequent target of rocket attacks that had caused further casualties, with the most recent ones being in September 2019.In addition to terrorist attacks, Reyhanlı has experienced social problems due to the sudden surge in population. These problems pertain to poverty, unemployment, shortage of water and electricity, absence of infrastructure, and insufficient essential public facilities for housing, health, education and recreation. These problems are the sources of increasing tensions between Syrians and Turkish locals in Reyhanlı.

1/2
 

THE CENTRE

1/23

Drawing by Dr. Chiu Chen-Yu

With the generous donation from Taiwan and collaborations with the Municipality of Reyhanlı, the Taiwan–Reyhanlı Centre for World Citizens (The Taiwan Centre), as the first of this kind, was built for improving the socio-cultural integration and inclusion between Syrians and Turkish locals.

 

The research of the Centre’s architectural program and site investigation started in 2016. The building construction began in April 2020 and was completed by September 2020. During the 4-year period, Cho worked as a volunteer and was the first private donor of the Centre. Cho took on the role as Founding Director of the Centre, working in close collaborations with the Turkish government, NGOs and the grassroots. He established an organizing team to select the beneficiaries in a fair and transparent manner, in line with the vision and program of the Centre.

 

     The Centre’s basic programs comprise:

 

  • Multi-purpose assembly halls;

  • Places for hosting NGOs and their activities;

  • Studios, galleries and shops for local artists;

  • Emergency/transitional shelters for people in need;

  • Design factory for incubating new industries and jobs;

  • Shops for distinctive local business sectors or exclusive local products; 

  • Governmental offices and facilities;

  • Communal spaces for children, women and disable people; and

  • Public facilities, including toilets, shower rooms, ablution rooms and masjids.    

​      Architectural features: 

  • Low cost, mass production, high efficiency and ensured quality:

By applying a large quantity of prefabricated building elements (pre-cast concrete blocks and folded metal sheets), this aims to lower down the cost and shorten the construction period. By precisely assembling these modular building elements onsite, this further ensures the quality of construction.

  • Walls for shelters, not for border; Walls for humanity, not for military:

The prefabricated concrete blocks were originally intended as the border walls between Syria and Turkey. For the Centre, they were repurposed as the main structural elements and partitions. ​

  • Living under Islamic vaults:

The folded metal sheets were applied for building a shell roof structure the represents the form of architectural heritage in the Middle- Asia. For example, the size of the shell is similar to the vaulted room in the Great Umayyad Mosque in Aleppo, and the shape can be referred to the ancient vault in Hattusa (1200 BC).

  • Transitional shelter embodied with collaborative construction:

The beneficiaries themselves will fill in the space of each unit under the shell roofs, with the supports and management of the organizing team. By building the indoor units together, it provides a chance to build a truly integrated and inclusive community.

  • A modern Islamic monument for humanity:

With the repetitive and analogous building elements and representational built forms and spaces, the Centre echoes the historical arasta, bazaar, caravanserai, madrasa, cami and bedesten. These buildings make the mobility in the olden days possible, which is in line with the Centre’s purpose of serving the ‘guests’ from Syria by the ‘hosts’ in Turkey.

  • A landscape with ruin for new civilization:

The centre is embodied with two linear parks separately aligning with the south and north façade. These two parks featured with large broken stones taken from the border and native plants to represent the ruin as the result of the war in which the Centre is the establishment of the new civilization.

 

  • Central courtyards and gardens for community:

There are three semi-enclosed courtyards and three gardens located in the middle of the Centre for varied events and activities of diverse groups and users. One courtyard in the near future will be converted into an outdoor concert hall; one will be the outdoor cinema; and the other one will be transformed into an art gallery.

  • Broken and collapsed concrete walls for recreation and education:

Previously broken and abandoned concrete blocks in the town are recycled and applied as the elements for children’s playground onsite – no barriers can stop the mobility of our children!!

1/29
 

THE TEAM

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_3635_edited.jpg
Dr. Chiu Chen-Yu
​裘 振 宇 ​

Since 2016, Cho has worked voluntarily as the architect for consolidating the program and design of the Centre.Since 2020, he has acted voluntarily as the founding Director of the Centre for implementing its program and collaboration of NGOs, business sectors and grassroots.Cho has also worked as an architectural historian, exhibition curator/coordinator, competition organizer and full-time academician in the department of architecture at Bilkent University.

Founding Director &
Principal Architect

團隊 THE TEAM

Walid%20Abdi_edited.jpg
MUHAMMED Velid Abdi
瓦歷德 · 阿布迪

After completing his previously interrupted (due to the Syrian civil war) education in Turkey, Walid has voluntarily worked in the immigration office in Ankara during which he helped establish the “Building Bridges for Refugee Children” organization.

Walid has also worked as a project assistant in the Norwegian Refugee Council, and as trainer in UNFPA where he worked with a younger audience about sexual and reproductive health. He was an interviewer assistant in the International Labor Organization before he joined the Centre as a full-time manager in summer 2020.

Project Manager

團隊 THE TEAM

eb83d6ab-b953-46b8-85b9-2110758b79b3_edi
Tuba Alvanoğlu
圖芭 · 阿凡歐魯

Tuba Alvanoğlu was born in Kars, Turkey and holds degrees in management, finance and media communications. She has worked as a journalist in multiple televised and print media (Milliyet, Hürriyet, Vatan,Hatay Radyo Televizyon, ...). She has also offered her services as a financial and political advisor. 

Project Supervisor

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_8863.JPG
MH Diaa Aldin Alshami
迪亞.阿爾丁.阿夏米 

From Syria Homs city, graduated from Al-Baath University Psychological counseling Education. He came to Turkey in 2014, and worked not merely in international medical corps for 5 years as a psychosocial support worker and team leader but in some charities as a volunteer. Now, he joins the Taiwan Center as a photographer and photo editor.

Deputy Manager / Volunteer

團隊 THE TEAM

_MG_8894.JPG
Muhammad
Abdul Razzaq Muhammad

默罕默德

Holder of agricultural secondary school, studied English in Syrian university, worked for twenty years in the field of tourism and marketing, and now works in the Taiwanese center, assistant project manager and financial management, responsible for the trade and shipment of goods and products to the world.

Deputy Manager / Volunteer

團隊 THE TEAM

004fe8ce-c234-4a4c-9314-269852ed29a7 copy1.jpg
Rawan Almajzoub
然灣

Due to the outbreak of war in Syria, Rawan came to Turkey in 2012 and completed her high school and university in Turkey. She graduated from Osmania Korkut Ata University in Business Administration with an excellent degree. She participated in a lot of volunteer helping refugees. She now works in the center as an assistant of project manager.

Secretary / Volunteer

團隊 THE TEAM

SelinSahin_photo3_edited.jpg
Selin Şahin
賽琳 · 沙欣

Since January 2018, Selin has been working together with Dr. Chiu on the Centre. She has lead a team in conducting field studies in Reyhanlı within a participatory design framework and has worked on multiple design proposals for the Centre.

Architect &
Project Manager / Volunteer

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_3278_edited.jpg
Amansaryyev Vepa
阿曼薩耶夫·維帕

A student of M.Sc. Resource-Efficient and Sustainable Building at the Technical University of Munich. Having a background in the field of architecture, his focus lies in sustainable design and building primarily tackling social and ecological issues. Since spring 2021 he has been contributing to the development of The Taiwan-Reyhanli Centre for World Citizens and is the co-founder and the chairman of the association “World Citizens Now!”

World Citizens Now!

團隊 THE TEAM

Hans_edited.jpg
Hans Richter
漢斯·里希特

Comes from Frankfurt am Main, Germany and studies architecture at the Technical University of Munich. Study abroad at the UFRJ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. With a focus on social and ecological issues, he has been involved in the The Taiwan - Reyhanli Centre since spring 2021 and is co-founder of the association "World Citizens Now!

World Citizens Now!

團隊 THE TEAM

imadd.jpg
艾瑪德 阿赫默德 蘇阿Imad Ahmed Zoua

Imad Ahmed Zoua is from Syria, Idlib. He graduated from high school in Aleppo, then came to Turkey in 2012. His working experiences including being an assistant in the police department previously and working not only in an agricultural company in Antakya for three years but also in an agricultural nursery.  He joined Taiwan center in the summer of 2021, and now he is taking charge in agricultural work.

Landscape Architecture / Volunteer

1/6
 

源起

自2011年敘利亞內戰爆發以來,已有超過560萬人逃離敘利亞尋求他國的庇護,這些國家包括了黎巴嫩、土耳其、約旦及其他地區(聯合國難民署,2018)。在這期間,光是土耳其便已經收容超過360萬名敘利亞人。這些人當中,至少有90%的人並沒有生活在難民營中,而是居住在城市或是城市周遭的地區,此外,其中又有三分之二是婦女和孩童。目前估計有40%(38萬)的敘利亞孩童無法接受教育,也無法獲得基本的醫療照護。

 

位置

雷伊漢勒(Reyhanlı),是個坐落於土耳其東南部哈泰省(Hatay)與敘利亞接壤的小城市,它也是土耳其通往敘利亞阿勒坡的要道。因此在敘利亞衝突越發升高之際,雷伊漢勒成為了敘利亞人尋求庇護的主要入口。也因為這樣,在過去的八年中,雷伊漢勒的人口數幾乎成長了一倍,並吸引了成千上萬不敢妄想短期內家園會恢復平靜的敘利亞人到此。

雖然雷伊漢勒有著寧靜的城市環境,但它並非完全遠離戰火的侵擾。在2013年5月,雷伊漢勒市在同一天內遭受了兩次炸彈攻擊,這場攻擊中造成52人喪生,146人受傷。自2011年以來,雷伊漢勒市經常是火箭彈攻擊的目標,這也造成了更多的死傷,最近一次的攻擊發生於2019年9月。除了恐怖攻擊之外,因為急遽的人口增加,導致雷伊漢勒市還面對了許多社會問題,這當中包括了貧窮、失業、水電短缺、基礎建設不足以及缺乏住宅、健康、教育以及娛樂等公共設施。這些社會問題正是造成敘利亞人和當地土耳其人之間關係緊張的主因。

1/2
 

中心

1/23

裘振宇執行長設計手稿(本人提供)。

台灣 - 雷伊漢勒世界公民中心,是台灣政府慷慨捐助和與雷伊漢勒市政府的合作,本中心是第一個旨在成為敘利亞、土耳其,乃至於與世界公民之間接軌的第一個世界公民中心,以期加深不同種族文化間的融合,並增進人類生命之平等。

台灣中心的建築計畫和基地調查始於2016年,而建築物於2020年4月動土,同年9月完工。在這四年期間,裘博士不僅以志工的身分從事工作,亦是中心第一位私人資助者。裘博士還擔任了此中心的首位執行長,並且與土耳其政府、非政府組織以及地方基層團體密切合作。他按照中心的願景與計畫,成立了一個經營管理團隊,以公平公開的方式挑選受助者。

 

      台灣中心的建築物基本機能包含了:

  • 多功能會場

  • 非政府組織的進駐地及辦活動的場地

  • 當地藝術家的工作室、畫廊與商店

  • 為有需要的人提供的緊急/過渡庇護所

  • 設計工廠以培植新產業跟創造就業機會

  • 販賣在地特色產業或獨家商品的店家

  • 孩童、婦女和殘疾人士的公共空間

  • 清真寺、淨身設施、洗手間等公共設施 

​      建築特色:

  • 低成本、大量生產、高效率與高品質:
    我們藉由使用大量工廠預製的建材(預鑄混凝土塊和折疊金屬薄板)來降低成本及減少工時。這些模組化的建材藉由精準的現場組裝也確保了建築物的品質。

  • 牆是庇護所而非邊界,牆是人道用途而非軍事用途:
    預鑄混凝土塊原本是要用來當作土耳其和敘利亞之間的邊界圍牆,但台灣中心將其用來當作建築物的主要結構體與組成單元。

  • 生在伊斯蘭的拱頂下:拱形屋頂是由折疊金屬薄板所建成,這種拱形建築回應了中亞地區的建築遺產。舉例來說,拱頂的大小由阿勒坡的大烏馬亞德清真寺 (the Great Umayyad Mosque)的拱形迴廊所啟發,而其優美的雙曲線形狀的靈感則是來自於公元前1200年哈圖夏(Hattusa)的石拱構造。

  • 合作建造體現下的中繼屋:在團隊的支持和協調之下,使用者可根據自己的需求在拱形屋頂下自行建造室內單元。透過合作建造的體現,它提供了一個可以建立真正融合和包容社區的機會。

  • 一座現代伊斯蘭的人道紀念碑:本中心使用了重複的建築單元,以及具有文化符號意義的建築形式和空間,來呼應了古絲路上歷史悠久的回教建築。因此台灣中心再現過去中亞民族的交流與融合,也回應本中心以促進土、敘兩國人民共存共榮的宗旨。

  • 廢墟中的新文明:中心外部備有兩座線性帶狀公園,分別位於中心南、北兩面。這兩座公園運用了大量從土、敘邊界運回的大型石塊,以及栽種當地原生植物,以此呼應戰禍下的廢墟,而本中心則是象徵著廢墟中新文明的建立。

  • 中央合院和花園:
    中心的中央備有三個半開放式的合院和三個花園,這些空間可提供給不同團體和使用者用來舉辦各種活動。在不久的將來,這三個合院將分別改建成戶外音樂廳、戶外電影院以及美術藝廊。

  • 供休憩與教育的斷垣殘壁:我們回收並運用了鎮上的廢棄混凝土塊來作為兒童遊樂場與戶外廣場的基礎設施 – 藉由安置大量倒下的混凝土塊,並為其賦予新的機能,我們期許在未來,沒有任何邊界可以阻止我們孩子自由的移動!

1/29
 

團隊

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_3635_edited.jpg
​裘 振 宇
Dr. Chiu Chen-Yu ​ ​

2016年,開始自願擔任建築師,以鞏固中心的計劃和設計。2020年,他自願擔任該中心的創始理事,負責實施其計劃以及與非政府組織,商業部門和基層組織的合作。裘博士是建築史論家、策展人、設計競賽主辦人。目前任教於Bilkent大學建築學系。

執行長

團隊 THE TEAM

Walid%20Abdi_edited.jpg
瓦歷德 · 阿布迪
MUHAMMED Velid Abdi

在土耳其接受了先前中斷(由於敘利亞內戰)的教育後,自願在安卡拉的移民辦公室工作,期間他幫助建立了「為難民兒童建造橋樑」組織。他還曾在挪威難民理事會擔任項目助理,並在人口基金會擔任培訓師,與當地青年進行了生育計劃諮詢的合作。在2020年夏季加入中心擔任全職經理之前,他曾是國際勞工組織的面試官助理。

專案經理

團隊 THE TEAM

eb83d6ab-b953-46b8-85b9-2110758b79b3_edi
圖芭 · 阿凡歐魯
Tuba Alvanoğlu

圖芭 · 阿凡歐魯生於土耳其卡爾斯(Kars),並擁有管理、金融和媒體傳播學位。她曾在多家電視臺和報章雜誌(國民日報 - Milliyet、自由報 - Hürriyet,國家報 - Vatan,哈泰電台電視 - Hatay Radyo Televizyon)擔任記者。她以志工的身分為台灣中心提供了財務和政治顧問服務。

專案負責人

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_8863.JPG
迪亞.阿爾丁.阿夏米 
MH Diaa Aldin Alshami

來自敘利亞的霍姆斯(Homs),2014年踏上土耳其這塊土地,畢業於Al-Baath大學,主修心理輔導教育。曾任於國際醫療機構的心理諮商及團隊領導將近五年,亦於數個慈善團體擔任志工,目前為中心的攝影及圖像剪輯。

副理 / 志工

團隊 THE TEAM

_MG_8894.JPG
默罕默德
Muhammad
Abdul Razzaq Muhammad

曾就讀農業中學,在敘利亞大學主修英語,並且於觀光及營銷業打滾二十餘年,目前在中心擔任專案經理的助理及財務管理長,專責於展示與運送本地婦女生產的愛心商品給全世界。

副理 / 志工

團隊 THE TEAM

004fe8ce-c234-4a4c-9314-269852ed29a7 copy1.jpg
然灣
Rawan Almajzoub

一位花信年華的敘利亞女孩,由於敘利亞戰爭爆發,2012年全家一起遷來土耳其,並且在這完成了學歷,畢業於Osmaniye Korkut Ata Üniversitesi,主修商業管理,並且拿得卓絕的成績。此外,參與過許多幫助難民的志工計畫,現在服務於台灣中心,目前擔任專案經理的助理。

秘書 / 志工

團隊 THE TEAM

SelinSahin_photo3_edited.jpg
賽琳 · 沙欣
Selin Şahin

自2018年1月以來,Selin與裘振宇執行長一直為了該中心而共同合作。她領導了團隊對雷漢漢勒進行了實地研究,並為該中心製定了多個設計建議。

建築師 / 專案經理 / 志工

團隊 THE TEAM

IMG_3278_edited.jpg
阿曼薩耶夫·維帕
Amansaryyev Vepa ​

慕尼黑工業大學資源高效和可持續建築的碩士生,擁有建築領域的背景,專注於可持續設計和建築,主要解決社會和生態問題。自 2021 年春季以來,一直為台灣雷伊漢勒世界公民中心的發展做出貢獻,並且是“World Citizens Now!”協會的聯合創始人和主席。

World Citizens Now!

團隊 THE TEAM

Hans_edited.jpg
漢斯·里希特
Hans Richter

來自德國美因河畔法蘭克福,在慕尼黑工業大學學習建築。在巴西里約熱內盧的聯邦大學留學。他專注於社會和生態問題,從 2021 年春季開始參與台灣雷伊漢勒世界公民中心,並且是“World Citizens Now!”協會的聯合創始人。

World Citizens Now!

團隊 THE TEAM

imadd.jpg
艾瑪德 阿赫默德 蘇阿Imad Ahmed Zoua

艾瑪德.阿赫默德.蘇阿,來自敘利亞的伊德利卜。他中學畢業於阿勒坡,2012年踏上土耳其這塊土地,曾任敘利亞警政單位的助理員警、安提約基雅的農業公司職員三年,也擔任過農產照護員。他在2021年的夏天加入中心,並且接管農產及照護植物的工作。

造景 / 志工